# REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING November 16, 2022

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on November 16, 2022 in the conference room at the high school at 6:00PM. Board members present: Jon Karger, Anne Peterson, Molly Welch, Greg Larson, Brittany Dokken and Brenda Olson.

Board Members Absent: None

Student Representatives present: Ellie Welch and Sylvia Pesch

Others Present: Brian Korf, Derrick Nelson, Rudy Martinez, Laura Januszewki, Emily Evenson, Nicole WK, Cody Shaffer,

Jon Moe, Trevor Steeves, and Cary Haugrud.

The meeting was called to order at 6:00PM and the pledge of allegiance was led by Chair, Jon Karger.

Brenda Olson moved to approve the meeting agenda with the addition of Business Item G: Change the January meeting date. The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried with all present members voting in favor.

### Acknowledgements

School Board Candidates and all voters Fall Advisors/Coaches & Athletes/Participants All-State Fall Athletes

Cross Country - Section 8A Team Academic Awards: Boys' Gold, Girls' Gold

Charlie Larson - 13th at State and named All-State

Football - District Champions

Volleyball - Team All-State Gold Academic Award Kelsey Isaman and Kia Nelson - All-State Academic

## Administrative reports

A. Elementary Principal / AD
 B. High School Principal
 C. Finance Director
 D. Superintendent
 Mr. Derrick Nelson
 Mrs. Laura Januszewski
 Mr. Rudy Martinez
 Mr. Brian Korf

Greg Larson moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

- A. Approve board minutes October 19, 2022 Regular Meeting
- B. Financial claims October bills
- C. Treasurer's report
- D. Accept Donations

Student Accounts - \$100 - Laura Klimek

Viking Butikk - \$100 - Laura Klimek

OMP Scholarship Fund in Memory of Dennis Ross - \$20 - Becky Wontor

OMP Scholarship Fund in Memory of Dennis Ross - \$100 - Sally Fiala

Girls Soccer - \$100 - Rotary Club of Pelican Rapids

E. Personnel

Approve the hire of Mason Blahut as Part-time Custodian at PRHS

Approve the hire of Natasha Ross as Long-term Special Education Paraprofessional Sub

The motion was seconded by Brittany Dokken and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Greg Larson introduced the Resolution Canvassing Returns of Votes of School District General Election.

## RESOLUTION CANVASSING RETURNS

#### OF VOTES OF SCHOOL DISTRICT GENERAL ELECTION

BE IT RESOLVED by the School Board of Independent School District No. 548, as follows:

- 1. It is hereby found, determined and declared that the general election of the voters of the district held on November 8, 2022, was in all respects duly and legally called and held.
- 2. As specified in the attached Abstract and Return of Votes Cast, a total of 6617 voters of the district voted at said election on the election of (three) school board members for four year term vacancies on the board caused by expiration of term on the first Monday in January next following the general election as follows:

Billy Milbeck 1377

Brenda K Olson 1908

Staci (Tollerud) Allmaras 1675

Greg Larson 1602

Write-ins 55

- 3. Brenda K Olson, Staci (Tollerud) Allmaras, and Greg Larson having received the highest number of votes, are elected to four-year terms beginning the first Monday in January, 2023.
- 4. The school district clerk is hereby authorized to certify the results of the election to the county auditor of each county in which the school district is located in whole or in part.

The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and upon a vote being taken the following voted in favor: Molly Welch, Brenda Olson, Anne Peterson, Brittany Dokken, Greg Larson, Jon Karger.

The following voted against: None

Whereupon said resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

Brittany Dokken introduced the Resolution Authorizing Issuance of Certificates of Election and Directing School District Clerk to Perform Other Election Related Duties.

#### RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATES

#### OF ELECTION AND DIRECTING SCHOOL DISTRICT CLERK

## TO PERFORM OTHER ELECTION RELATED DUTIES

WHEREAS, the board has canvassed the general election for school board members held on November 8, 2022.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE School Board of Independent School District No. 548, State of Minnesota, as follows:

- 1. The chair and clerk are hereby authorized to execute certificates of election on behalf of the school board of Independent School District No. 548 to the following candidates:
  - a. Brenda K Olson
  - b. Staci (Tollerud) Allmaras
  - c. Greg Larson

Who have received a sufficiently large number of votes to be elected to fill vacancies on the board caused by expiration of term on the first Monday in January next following the election, based on the results of the canvass.

- 2. The certificate of election shall be in substantially the form attached hereto.
- 3. After the time for contesting the election has passed and the candidate has filed all campaign financial reports required by Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 211A, the clerk of the school board is hereby directed to deliver the certificates to the persons entitled thereto personally or by certified mail.
- 4. The clerk is hereby directed to enclose with the certificate a form of acceptance of office and oath of office insubstantially the form attached hereto.

The motion was seconded by Brenda Olson. and upon a vote being taken the following voted in favor: Molly Welch, Brenda Olson, Jon Karger, Anne Peterson, Brittany Dokken, Greg Larson.

The following voted against: None

Whereupon said resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

Anne Peterson made a motion to approve the second reading of Policy 722. The motion was seconded by Brittany Dokken and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Brenda Olson made a motion to approve the first reading of Policy 102. The motion was seconded by Molly Welch and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Anne Peterson made a motion to approve the first reading of Policy 514. The motion was seconded by Molly Welch and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Brenda Olson made a motion to approve the first reading of Policy 606. The motion was seconded by Brittany Dokken and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Jon Karger made a motion to change the January 2023 meeting date to January 4, 2023. The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Brittany Dokken made a motion to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Molly Welch and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Board Chair	Board Clerk	